Real People, Big Astronomy: Esteban Parkes

May 14, 2021

4 PM Chile Time & EDT / 3 PM CDT / 1 PM PDT

Esteban Parkes is a Telescope Manager at MSO-CTIO. He leads a group of professionals including Electronics ENgineers, Electrical Engineers, and Electrical and Mechanical Technicians to provide night support in operating the telescopes and instruments for data acquisition, and day support to have all the necessary elements for an Observer. At CTIO, Esteban’s group supports the Blanco Telescope plus eight other programs that include twenty-seven smaller telescopes. In this Zoom Webinar + Facebook Live event, we will learn about Esteban’s job, and a little about his life outside astronomy.

Zoom Webinar Link (best for Spanish interpretation): https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86821193398

#STEMCareers #BigAstronomy

EN ES