Real People, Big Astronomy: Adam Thornton

June 21

8 PM Chile & EDT / 7 PM CDT / 5 PM PDT

Adam Thornton is a software developer for the Vera Rubin Observatory. The Rubin Observatory will generate 20 terabytes of raw data a night.  It is Adam’s job to ensure that the JupyterLab-based interactive component of the Observatory’s science platform provides a pleasant way for astronomers to quickly investigate hypotheses based on smallish-but-arbitrarily-chosen slices through that data. In this Zoom Webinar/Facebook Live event, we will learn about Adam’s job, and a little of his life outside astronomy.

Register for the Zoom webinar here (Spanish interpretation available): https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_w5Jas0aUQIGLxOwQ1qkEFA 

Or watch on Facebook Live

#BigAstronomy #STEMCareers

EN ES